My Child Is An Adult

I’m so pissed off at all the mothers I’ve met in the past. None of them told me how quickly your baby turns into a full-grown ADULT. My son is 9-months-old. He is crawling like a champ on his stomach; holding his bottle and mastering the magic trick of wasting formula; and making the decision to ignore all of my guidance. If he could sit up on his own, I think he’d crawl on out of the house and get a job. *gasp*

This month has been filled with so much joy that I don’t even have the words for it. My little guy traveled to Phoenix to accompany Hubby on a work trip. While The Husband went to classes and meetings, Mom and I took Little E to the aquarium and children’s museum.

We had SO. MUCH. FUN. Little E’s eyes turned into saucers as he watched colorful sea life swim, slither and stare in massive tanks inside the aquarium. He tired himself out with a strong army crawl in the children’s museum. By the way, that place should really just be called an indoor playground, but I digress. One of the best moments of the trip was sitting by the pool with Little E dressed in his very first swim suit.

That was just the start of his traveling. Little E also visited his grandpa in the great state of Wisconsin. He dipped his toes in a fresh-water lake; watched as The Husband brought back his catch and grandpa turned it into lunch; and he got to swing in a fabulous hammock.

All of this traveling made me realize that we needed a travel stroller. We got it just in time for the trip to Wisconsin. I can break that thing down with one hand and whip it onto the conveyor belt that leads to TSA screening. Now my wonderful husband is not struggling to lug our huge Uppa Baby Cruz through an airport, while helping me with all things baby. He was skeptical when I purchased the travel stroller, but after carrying it through the airport and storing it in the plane’s overhead bin, he totally supported my decision.

Later this month, Little E and I will be traveling without my husband, so we’ll see how I handle the travel stroller solo. Little E is 20+ pounds. I can’t physically carry him around airports anymore without hurting the ol’ back.

Leave a Reply

